(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )

Postby prelaw10 » Mon Jun 07, 2010 3:22 pm

Hi, law school prospective here. Question: Are non-students allowed to audit law school classes? If so, which type of classes are large enough that I wouldn't be noticed? I hope to audit a few classes (maybe even follow a single class for a month) to get a sense for how a law course runs, or "feels" like.

I'm currently on the fence about (re)applying to law schools, so I figured any bit of engagement with law schools would be helpful in making my decision. Am I right to think so? Or is auditing a waste of time? It would pretty cool if I even got to speak to some students about their thoughts on their law school experience -- but I don't know if I'd actually go that far... it might come off as creepy/annoying.

If it makes a difference, I'd be auditing at a large t-14. I am a very recent grad who applied last cycle but was wait listed / rejected everywhere. I might re-apply in the fall, and will be spending the next year doing volunteer work, maybe at a legal clinic. While I hope to volunteer on a full-time basis, I'm pretty sure I'll still have a decent amount of down-time.