Law School with kids? Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
rdcws000

Bronze

Law School with kids?

Post by rdcws000 » Thu May 27, 2010 11:47 pm

I'm a PT admitted student planning on starting school this fall.

My wife is supportive but her main concern is the time I will spend away from our kids. I am concerned about it to. We have a 10 yr old and a 3 yr old.

Are any of you attending school with kids? Are you finding time to do the things you used to do?

I am not naive enough to think I will have the same amount of time, but I imagine the PT workload will at least allow some weekend activities. I feel like this experience will be a positive example in the long for my 10 yr old son, to see his dad work hard towards a goal, and I will have graduated by the time he is in the middle of his junior high years.

Is this selfish? Should I hang it up, be satisfied with the career I have and devote myself to being a good dad?

MURPH

Silver

Re: Law School with kids?

Post by MURPH » Fri May 28, 2010 4:02 am

Many law schools have clubs for students with kids or for older law students, many of who will be married with kids. It is probably a good idea to get your wife to meet other spouses of 1Ls. That is my plan.
Other than that I would make a habit of doing one thing per day with them everyday. It could be getting them up, ready and driving them to school in the morning or it could be sitting down for a family dinner, like families used to do in the olden days. Maybe help the older kid with homework and read a bedtime story to the small one.
Just don't over do it. Don't volunteer to be the football coach or encourage your wife to get a job working evenings. Basically, I expect this to be a problem for one year. After 1L the habits will be set plus you won't be doing as much busy but unproductive studying as you learn what works and what doesn't.