Should I stay part time? Please advise! Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
Violetta

New

Should I stay part time? Please advise!

Post by Violetta » Sun May 16, 2010 2:56 pm

I am a part time student and rising 2L, and I am paying sticker. It was my plan to transfer to the day program at my school, unless I found a job that paid enough to justify the extra year's cost of living expenses. (I've been working at an unpaid legal internship this past year). In light of recent events, I am seriously considering remaining in the class of 2013, and I hope some of you will be able to offer sound advice.

If I switch to full time, I will do OCI this summer, and my GPA at the time of my bidding will be based upon five grades (plus three P/F courses). I have reason to believe that I did badly on one of my finals this semester, though I am not quite sure how much damage was done. My school will let me wait to see my grades before making a final decision to switch to full time, and if there was terrible damage done, I could have a year to raise my grades before going through OCI. In addition, I could try to wait out the market. Obviously, no one knows how much better next year's OCI will be, or if it will be better at all, but this is something to keep in mind. It is likely that I will keep interning if I stay part time, and there are some intriguing pro bono opportunities the school may offer that I will have more time to explore if I stay here an extra year. Tuition costs the same.