Becoming a Jag after ROTC?

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
dadengcrew

Becoming a Jag after ROTC?

Postby dadengcrew » Sun Mar 14, 2010 8:09 pm

Hi all,

I'm a current undergrad thinking about law school. Currently I'm a contracted ROTC cadet with a 4 year active duty commitment after graduating. I have two options for law school: I can either request and ed delay and pay for law school myself, or I can branch into a line unit and later apply for FLEP or some other program.

Do any military people have any opinions about this?

patrickd139

Re: Becoming a Jag after ROTC?

Postby patrickd139 » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:28 pm

viewtopic.php?f=3&t=31543

My opinion: apply for FLEP and have them pay for it (very tough to get, if I understand correctly). If (when?) they say no, and you still want to be a lawyer, request an ed delay and pay for it yourself.

professorvoltron

Postby professorvoltron » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:42 pm

I would say go in, deploy and get your feet wet, and then try the FLEP. You just might find that the military isn't your cup of tea. These are very tough and interesting times for the service, so you might just want to bail and never come back.

vanwinkle

Postby vanwinkle » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:47 pm

professorvoltron wrote:I would say go in, deploy and get your feet wet, and then try the FLEP. You just might find that the military isn't your cup of tea. These are very tough and interesting times for the service, so you might just want to bail and never come back.

This is kind of dumb advice. JAG is not like other military service. Just because you don't like being in whatever position you get after undergrad doesn't mean you won't like JAG.

Haribo

Postby Haribo » Mon Mar 15, 2010 2:37 pm

vanwinkle wrote: