Law Schools and Car

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
eternallearner

Law Schools and Car

Postby eternallearner » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:14 pm

This issue is definitely premature for a person in my position (taking the LSAT in June 2010), but I was wondering the following:

Do you think you would have been happier in law school if you had a car?

In college, I did not have a car and I did not feel that I was missing anything. I was young and had different expectation. I was just happy with what collegetown/college/friends provided. If my parents had given me a car at that age, it would have been a burden. Without a doubt.

I did my masters in a city (very touristy, but lacked people-friendly public transportation). Though it was the city and VERY tourist oriented, there were times when I just missed certain ethnic food, shopping centers, change of scenery, etc

After talking to a wide range of people in my masters program, I made the following observation, those who have access to cars (either own one or have good friends who have one) are definitely much happier in the program. After 3 months in the same town, the effect became apparent. Despite the prestige of the program, the feeling of being "stranded" in the town overshadows many aspects of life.

This bring me to the future: current or past law students, do you think having a car in law school will make life easier/enjoyable? Is it an extra burden (monthly car insurance/parking fees/gas, fear of break-ins, digging it out in the snow) that does not justify the benefits (change of scenery, help with grocery shopping, convenience)?

What is your recommendation to incoming law students? Or areas of consideration?

reverendt

Re: Law Schools and Car

Postby reverendt » Fri Feb 26, 2010 9:19 pm

I think it really depends on where you go to school.