Making the Most of Tiers 3/4 Forum

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
futurelawstudent10

New

Making the Most of Tiers 3/4

Post by futurelawstudent10 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:29 am

I graduated from a well-regarded, land-grant university with an excellent GPA (Magna Cum Laude), but only earned an average LSAT score. As a result I will be matriculating into a tier 3/4 school this fall. I am very interested in working for the government and will soon begin volunteering at our local prosecutor's office. I am committed to my lifelong goal of becoming an ADA and will do whatever is necessary. I have a genuine passion and will kick myself for any valuable, missed opportunities.

With my situation in mind, I have a few questions:

1. Does tier matter as much when you strive to work for the government?

2. How can I make the most of this situation with respect to internships, community service, joining the correct EC groups, the right classes, and networking?

3. Assuming I do well, should I seek to transfer after L1?

Last edited by futurelawstudent10 on Thu Feb 25, 2010 3:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

JPeavy44

New

Re: Making the Most of Tiers 3/4

Post by JPeavy44 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:48 am

If you have to "make the most" out of the situation, you probably shouldn't go in the first place. Law school is a HUGE commitment, and if you're not into it, you won't make it. You're better off retaking and waiting a year then trying to make the most out of a T3/4.

IF you do well your first year, definitely look to transfer if you want, but don't bank on that before starting law school.

Gold

Post by 270910 » Thu Feb 25, 2010 2:51 am

futurelawstudent10 wrote:1. Does tier matter as much when you strive to work for the government?
Yes. A lot.
futurelawstudent10 wrote:2. How can I make the most of this situation?
Don't fucking go to law school.