Cs in first semester

(Study Tips, Dealing With Stress, Maintaining a Social Life, Financial Aid, Internships, Bar Exam, Careers in Law . . . )
krislaw25

Cs in first semester

Postby krislaw25 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:04 pm

Hello all:
I recently received my 1L grades, and they are not too good. I am a part-time student, working part-time at a law firm, so I only take 4 classes a semester. I am at a 3-Tier school.
I got an A in my Legal Writing class, but C in Torts and a C+ in Contracts. I am
really bummed because I thought I did so much better than that. Any suggestions on improving my exam grades for next semester. I can obviously write good legal memoranda, but I am
writing C exams. Any advice and/or suggestions is greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

General Tso

Re: Cs in first semester

Postby General Tso » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:13 pm

you've been on TLS for a year and a half and haven't learned what study methods ppl here recommend?

1. Supplements should be focus of your study
2. Prepare for the EXAM from day 1, don't worry about preparing to impress the prof. when called on.
3. Take as many practice exams from previous years as possible
4. TYPE your exam, don't handwrite. You can type 30-50% faster than you handwrite, and more words is generally thought to = better grade. Plus you don't have to worry about your prof. docking you for bad handwriting.

krislaw25

Postby krislaw25 » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:15 pm

I have not been on the site for a long time. I only read posts when prepping for LSAT. Have not utilized the site for actual law school stuff until now. Thanks for your post.

General Tso

Postby General Tso » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:23 pm

See if you can find the Supplements thread on the students forum. Also if you can find it, Arrow did an excellent article on how to succeed first year.

VincentChase

Postby VincentChase » Sat Jan 16, 2010 2:40 pm

swheat wrote:you've been on TLS for a year and a half and haven't learned what study methods ppl here recommend?