Job Opportunities Transferring to UCLA vs. UCB vs. GULC? Forum

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Questions123

New

Job Opportunities Transferring to UCLA vs. UCB vs. GULC?

Post by Questions123 » Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:54 pm

Hey!

So I am a transfer student for the class of 2020. it has always been my dream to attend UCLA Law and I am in!
However, my dad is REALLY pressing Berkeley because it is ranked higher. I understand the benefit to being at a higher ranked school, but I am fairly certain I want to work in Southern California, so I am a little thrown off by his advice and am not sure what to do.

I am at a T1 I had decent grades first semester and then got a 4.0 my second semester. I'm guessing I'll be around 12% when rankings come out, so I do not know if UCB will happen but its a possibility.

I've also applied to Texas, GULC, Cornell, and NYU.

The benefit to immediately accepting at UCLA is I will be able to do OCI stuff and not be pressed for time with that.

Is it worth it to wait to hear back from the other places? Should I actually go if I get in anywhere else? My dream is Big Law in LA, so it makes sense to me to go to the best law school in SoCal... thoughts?