Transfer from a Tier 2 with a shabby GPA...advice?

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Transfer from a Tier 2 with a shabby GPA...advice?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jan 13, 2015 1:42 pm

I am currently a student at a Tier 2 school (50-100) in the Philadelphia area, and for a variety of reasons, I have been miserable here and would really, really like to transfer. I have been so miserable that I have considering transferring to inferior schools. My grades were looking pretty good until just a few moments ago I received my final grade, a B in Contracts. I now have a 3.31 GPA, highlighted by an A in legal writing.

I would like to practice in the NY/NJ/PA area and was looking into other schools before receiving the devastating final grade. I was looking at Notre Dame, and according to the ABA 509 report, my GPA is within the range of accepted transfer students, and the school accepted students from worse schools than mine. Based on my research here T14 is out of the question.

I have strong softs, but I'm not sure how much that will matter for transfers.

Edit: GPA changed to 3.354. Not sure how but it sounds better than 3.31. Sounds like this may be top 30-40%.