Transfer question-- NYC

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Transfer question-- NYC

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Jul 29, 2013 8:10 pm

I am currently a student at a T2 school in the New York City area. For what it's worth, I like my school, my classmates, and my professors, and feel I've developed surprisingly good ties and connections given that I know my own strengths and weaknesses, and networking doesn't generally fall on the "strengths" list. I am on law review, have been accepted to a relatively competitive clinic for next year, and have club leadership positions that are closely tied to my professional interests and personal identity. My cumulative GPA for 1L year was comfortably above the cutoff for top 10%. At this point, I've just been accepted to NYU and have until Monday 8/5 to either accept and put down a deposit, or decline. Still waiting on a decision from Columbia. I've been trying to use my acceptance to NYU as leverage to increase my merit scholarship at my current school. I already have all but around $11k per year of tuition covered by merit aid, but given my financial situation and career goals this additional funding does make a difference to me. However, I don't feel that negotiations are necessarily going w