Fordham to Northwestern transfer... worth it?

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
joy408

Fordham to Northwestern transfer... worth it?

Postby joy408 » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:52 pm

Hi! I'm new to TLS and I've done some (lots) of browsing in the last few days trying to get some advice on transferring. I finished my first year at Fordham right on the cusp of the top 10% (GPA was thousandths of a point away from top 10% cut off which was 3.60 this year). I did not make Law Review (was offered a spot on every other secondary and accepted one of those), and I have some scholarships (about 20K a year). Is it worth giving that up and my connections at Fordham to transfer to Northwestern? Also, I'm still waiting to hear from GULC, NYU, and CLS as well but those are doubtful because GPA is not that high. I have some strong mid-west ties with friends and family but ultimately want to clerk and work in biglaw in NYC, as well as teach years down the road (but only on the side, perhaps teach a night course on top of working in biglaw/in-house somewhere).

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! My deposit is due on Tuesday. Thanks in advance!

stillwater

Re: Fordham to Northwestern transfer... worth it?

Postby stillwater » Thu Jul 18, 2013 10:58 pm