PT -> FT transfer (with a twist) Forum

A forum for those current students who are or may be transferring from one school to another. Post any questions, advice, or other transfer related comments here.
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only available to the creator of each thread. The anonymous posting feature is intended to permit the solicitation of anonymous advice regarding the transfer application process, chances of being accepted, etc. Unacceptable uses include: testing the feature, questions which are clearly fake or hypothetical in nature, harassing other users, etc. Posters should also read and understand the announcements posted at the top of the Transfers forum prior to using the anonymous feature.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

PT -> FT transfer (with a twist)

Post by Anonymous User » Tue May 07, 2013 2:28 pm

I'm currently a second-year evening student (that's the twist...sorry if it's lame but I couldn't find any thread on topic). Grade cutoffs from last year put me in the top 10% with definite improvement so far this year, so I feel confident going into OCI this fall. Also have law review at my current school, and I'm pretty sure I can get 2 solid recommendations. My day job lets me pay my living expenses in full, but I am taking out full loans for tuition - will have 140-50k in debt from current school.

The transfer question: worth it to try applying to a T10 school? Only ones I'm really interested in are Columbia, Virginia, NYU, or Harvard. Will probably apply to Yale for the lulz.

Upside: obvious. Better school. Better clerkship and job opportunities (particularly interested in fed. government work, but my school has no LRAP for gov't work).

Downside: 2 full-time years instead of part-time years, lose some credits, massive increase in loans due to living expenses.

Thoughts? Would you do it?

Wholigan

Silver

Re: PT -> FT transfer (with a twist)