Public Interest Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Burger in a can

Silver

Public Interest

Post by Burger in a can » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:00 pm

I'm just a 0L, but I guess I wanted to hear some feedback from current law students or real lawyers. I am exclusively interested in public interest and government jobs (including local and state). I have no background in law, and I openly admit that I know absolutely nothing about how law school works. Do you guys have any advice about shaping my law school experience toward a career as, say, an ADA? Thanks!

smalltown

New

Re: Public Interest

Post by smalltown » Tue Dec 01, 2009 9:11 pm

A displayed commitment to service is a must. You need to show that you want to fight the good fight, whichever side of the fight you're on. Volunteer. If you're school has a public service pledge or program, get involved in that. Learn how to be a good trial lawyer, if you want to be involved in that. A lot of law schools don't teach you how to be a good trial attorney. You have to do mock trial, take clinics, intern with trial attorneys, those types of things. If there are trial advocacy classes, take those.