1L Summer Options? Help appreciated. Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
CRizzy141

New

1L Summer Options? Help appreciated.

Post by CRizzy141 » Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:21 am

Hey all,

I'm tremendously ignorant of the career development process, and I'm probably getting the ball rolling a little late on this one.

I'm a 1L student at a certain poorly regarded school in MI. 4.0 first term (trimester based), 15 credits in the bag, RA position and 2 book awards. I've done very little research, but from the limited reading I've done I've determined that obviously my firm chances are between none and null. The next thing I've noticed is federal judge internships. I'm assuming these are also very competitive, but I'd certainly like to investigate more.

Again, I'm tremendously ignorant of this process, so a shove in the right direction would be greatly appreciated. Frankly, I feel a little nonplussed with the fact that our CD office hasn't said a word about this to me; were it not for the fact that one of my favorite professors emailed me a couple days ago suggesting I look at a website she came across, I wouldn't have even given this any thought until next term. Obviously, that's my fault just as much if not more for failing to research; I just got caught up studying, as I want to nail this term and put myself in the best possible position for the upcoming year (lots of pressure to transfer from friends, still haven't decided to though).