Declining

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Declining

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:34 pm

Declined an offer today; the first I declined. I feel so much better. I really hope that opens up a slot for someone else.

edcrane

Re: Declining

Postby edcrane » Thu Oct 01, 2009 1:50 pm

What did you say? I'm new at this declining thing.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:13 pm

lol, who needs help on how to craft a declination letter? what are they going to do, tell other firms your letter wasn't very good so they should rescind your offer?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:18 pm

I called them. I was thinking of emailing, and I think I might for others I was less close w/, but I wanted to call for this one b/c I was in close contact w/ the recruiter and asked lots of questions along the way.

Basically I just said I was really flattered for the offer, really liked the firm and everyone I met, but I decided to go in xyz direction because of abc. They were cool w/ with it. I was dreading making the call, but I'm really glad I did now b/c I just don't want to lead them on and I feel like a dick sitting on it if I'm not seriously considering it anymore.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 01, 2009 2:23 pm

which firm?

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:31 pm