License/past employment question

Discussions related to the bar exam are found in this forum
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are sharing sensitive information about bar exam prep. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned."
throwawaybarq

New

License/past employment question

Postby throwawaybarq » Sun Dec 01, 2019 2:29 pm

Hi, long time lurker here. Here's my issue: I had some difficulty finding work when I graduated law school, so I spent a few months at a firm that didn't pay much and worked inhumane hours on top of it, just so there wouldn't be a gap on my resume. I eventually found a much better job and left.

The firm that I used to work for is closing down now because both the partners have been disbarred for ethics violations, which does not surprise me one bit. My question is: when the bar asks me to list prior employment for the purposes of admission after passing the bar exam, will it weigh against me that my first job was for this firm? Should I list this firm if it no longer exists and my old boss isn't practicing law anymore?

burritotaco

New

Re: License/past employment question

Postby burritotaco » Thu Dec 05, 2019 4:30 am

Yes, you should list it. No one is going to care.

rcharter1978

Gold

Postby rcharter1978 » Thu Dec 05, 2019 8:25 pm

burritotaco wrote:Yes, you should list it. No one is going to care.

This.

sleeplessindc

New

Postby sleeplessindc » Sat Dec 07, 2019 9:47 am

Should I list this firm if it no longer exists and my old boss isn't practicing law anymore?

You are required to list it. If your state bar uses the NCBE form, you'll be asked whether each employer is now defunct; I would expect all non-NCBE states to solicit this info in some similar fashion.