Help! Do I dial close drug use or withdraw application Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Help! Do I dial close drug use or withdraw application

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jul 12, 2019 8:53 am

Hi, I’m a law student accepted to a gov honors program (externship) in the fall. The application asks about illegal drugs and I did in fact smoke 3 times and unfortunately take a prescription pill which wasn’t mine during 1L. Do I fess up and roll the dice or do I withdraw? I want to work for the government (DOJ) once I put 7 years between my drug use and I do not want that info out there if it’ll be a black mark down the road, especially if I’ll be auto DQ for the externship (SEC). Thanks!

RVG

New

Re: Help! Do I dial close drug use or withdraw application

Post by RVG » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:01 am

Anonymous User wrote:take a prescription pill which wasn’t mine during 1L.
Is there a reason why you think there's a chance that the dice will roll favorably?

Slippin' Jimmy

Silver

Post by Slippin' Jimmy » Fri Jul 12, 2019 9:29 am

Not going to say don't smoke the marijuanas but its really common knowledge that you shouldn't partake if you want to work for a Fed position anytime soon. I don't feel qualified to say you should definitely withdraw but smoking the reefer and working in a government honors program are unfortunately pretty much mutually exclusive.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:12 am