Lateral screener/callback

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Lateral screener/callback

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jun 05, 2019 1:46 pm

I have a lateral interview coming up, it is my first time meeting this firm and I’ll be meeting two partners and two associates. I was curious if this would be considered a screener or callback. I got the interview through a connection at the firm, whose first interview with this firm was only with two partners, which is why I’m curious.

Anonymous User

Re: Lateral screener/callback

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jun 05, 2019 2:49 pm

I think a few of us who’ve been out a few years have experienced this. I’d just assume you’re in for a lengthy interview and don’t worry about labels.

I don’t think there’s a formal distinction form screener to callbacks when you’re lateraling with experience. Before I left private practice, my lateral interviews either had a “screener” with someone from HR/recruiting over the phone or just one attorney that wanted to quickly gauge whether I was qualified (usually over the phone too). The in-person interviews were always more in depth and lengthy than what you’d normally expect at a first round interview or a “screener.” That being said, none of them were ever as long as the day-long callback you’d be used to in law school (multiple interviews and lunch, etc.)

papermateflair

New

Postby papermateflair » Wed Jun 05, 2019 3:17 pm