Clerkship to Consulting (MBB)? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Clerkship to Consulting (MBB)?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Apr 28, 2019 8:49 pm

Am currently clerking for a federal district court judge in a moderately competitive city. Graduated median-ish from YHS before going into biglaw at V-5 for a year. I did a joint degree so I have another Masters (but not an MBA). Biglaw was bearable primarily because I knew I was leaving to clerk. My clerkship is alright (my judge is a kind and smart boss though the hours are very long and he can be quirky and demanding) but I increasingly find the day-to-day duties of clerking and litigation to be boring, stressful, and lonely. Am now starting to break into a sweat thinking about my post-clerkship plans. Up until now, I had always planned to return to my prior firm and didn't recruit elsewhere during this cycle but the thought of going back to biglaw after not loving the work I've done while clerking just makes me so sad. I have no prior full-time work experience between college and law school/grad school but I have lots of interesting more business-related things in my resume - all in a specific niche industry from outside passion projects. I've always loved working in teams and working on a variety of different things. I think consulting would provide more of that.

Thoughts? Has this been done before? I also wonder if my belated cold feet re. litigation might be more common than people think...

LBJ's Hair

Silver