How Strict are Law Firms Regarding Experience Requirements for Laterals? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How Strict are Law Firms Regarding Experience Requirements for Laterals?

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:25 pm

As the title says, how strict are big law firms with regards to experience requirements? There are some openings I see that ask for one year of experience minimum. I have been working for 5 months now, but I do feel like I could consider my internships as experience too, which would put me around a year.

Could anyone shed light on this? It's a generic question but I'd rather not jeopardize my chances or my current career with a poorly-timed application. Any thoughts are appreciated.

Silver

Re: How Strict are Law Firms Regarding Experience Requirements for Laterals?

Post by 2013 » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:40 pm

You can’t count your internship experience.

Also, a lot of jobs that are 1-3 years are usually looking for closer to 3 years.

5 months is realistically not enough experience to get an interview unless you have past experience pre-law school in that field or you have some other compelling reason for being a stellar candidate.

Additionally, if you’re currently not at a biglaw firm, it’ll be even harder to lateral this early in your career.

I don’t think it’ll hurt to try unless you’re afraid of your current firm finding out (not that likely), but don’t apply thinking you will get an interview.

Anonymous User