Big law associates - have you switched practice areas?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Big law associates - have you switched practice areas?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:15 am

I am interested in hearing about experiences changing practice area in big law. I assume it's best to do it while still junior. I am a finance lawyer looking to get into something different (maybe fin tech, block chain, VC, or startup related). Wondering what your experience has been like (or the experiences of people you know who have made a move) in making a drastic lateral move and using a recruiter.

Anonymous User

Re: Big law associates - have you switched practice areas?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 30, 2018 11:39 am

I tried to make the same move youre talking about and failed. No one wanted to re-tool a finance associate and many finance associates want out (for very good reason - it’s the worst corporate practice). You’re trying to switch into the sexiest area of law at the moment and most firms would rather take an M&A associate if they have to take one without relevant experience.

I hope you have some pre-law school experience you can show on your resume because it will be tough otherwise.

Recruiters are useful for a lot of firms, but they will try to talk you out of switching practice areas because it’s harder for them to make a quick commission.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Oct 30, 2018 1:29 pm