0L paralegal, Is sending unsoliciated resumes a good idea? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
jfadamson

New

0L paralegal, Is sending unsoliciated resumes a good idea?

Post by jfadamson » Wed Oct 17, 2018 5:38 pm

I am currently a paralegal, and planning to attend school in Fall 2019. I have narrowed down my choices, and have a pretty good idea of where I would like to attend school. The school is not well-known or popular by any means, but I like the area, and wouldn't mind living there working in a small-medium sized firm.

I am about to leave my current job as a paralegal, with hopes of getting another legal job in the city which I would like to attend law school. I am considering sending out letters, and an unsolicited resume to small-medium sized law firms in the prospective city. I hope to find a firm that is interested in investing long-term into a relationship, to hopefully taking me on as a summer associate, and hopefully one day partner.

Is outlining these intentions in a letter a plausible idea to land a pre-law gig in the prospective city? Also, would it be a bad idea to also seek scholarship funds through this avenue of working for a firm?

basketofbread

New

Re: 0L paralegal, Is sending unsoliciated resumes a good idea?

Post by basketofbread » Wed Oct 17, 2018 9:09 pm

Are you planning on working in your first year of law school? That is pretty inadvisable.