When your resume says fluent in Spanish Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

When your resume says fluent in Spanish

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:36 am

So, my resume says I am fluent in Spanish, and I was. I graduated from a top undergrad with honors in a Spanish Lit major where I finished with a 65 page undergrad thesis in Spanish, I spent a year abroad in Spanish speaking countries, and I taught volunteer ESL classes for basically all my adult life up until 3 years ago. BUT short of the occasional podcast, internet article, or short conversation with my undergrad advisor, I haven't actually used my Spanish in like 3 years (2 years WE and 1L year). I just noticed that both partners I am meeting with today at a callback speak fluent Spanish. Is this something that is going to come up and is it better with them that I am honest if asked instead of trying to fake it? I was already planning on taking steps to get back into the flow with the language by taking a class my school offers called legal Spanish and participating in a clinic where a lot of the clients will be Spanish speakers. I really don't know what the move is here. Thoughts??

Anonymous User

Re: When your resume says fluent in Spanish

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:40 am

Be ready to talk in Spanish. Worst case scenario is the entire interview will not be in English - and seems relatively likely.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Aug 15, 2018 9:43 am