Careers in Legal Academia? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Bodhicaryavatara

Bronze

Careers in Legal Academia?

Post by Bodhicaryavatara » Sun Jul 15, 2018 9:41 am

I'm a recent JD grad, currently clerking for a judge (two years). Legal academia, particularly clinical legal teaching, would be my dream job. In terms of clinical teaching, I'm interested in criminal defense, family law, immigration, disability law, international human rights, and veterans law. Would obtaining an L.L.M./Ph.D./S.J.D. in law help towards obtaining such a position? I was an OK but not great student in my JD program, and I know that hiring for academia can be very elitist (I did attend a prestigious LAC for undergrad and will have an Ivy graduate degree, though).

anon sequitur

Silver

Re: Careers in Legal Academia?

Post by anon sequitur » Sun Jul 15, 2018 10:20 am

Clinical jobs usually go to people with many years of experience in the area of the clinic. Having a connection to the law school seems to help a lot too.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:29 am

To piggy back this a tad, what does it take to get the standard tenure track position at a law school? What’s the standard resume and pre hiring years of experience for one of these? How important is adjunct experience prior?

Fireworks2016

Bronze

Post by Fireworks2016 » Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:24 pm