ADA Exit Options Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Tigerbait2015

New

ADA Exit Options

Post by Tigerbait2015 » Fri Jul 13, 2018 10:13 pm

Currently at one of the biggest DA's in the country (think NY, Chicago, LA, Houston, etc.). Goal is to go into private practice to make more $. Would really like to do a stint in biglaw, but up until now all of my experience both in law school and after graduation has been in the public sector. I graduated 2015 and have been working here ever since, have a bunch of jury trials, some managerial experience, and some appellate brief writing experience. The big catch is I don't want to stay in my geographic market. Here are the options I've considered:

1) Lateral to small/mid-law and somehow get to big law
2) Do a fed clerkship and then get to big law in another market (maybe after a stop over in mid law? Not sure how this works)
3) Wait out several more years and try to go AUSA, then biglaw in white collar
4) ??