Finding Your "Tribe"/Getting People to Vouch For You

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Finding Your "Tribe"/Getting People to Vouch For You

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:15 am

I'm a rising 2L about to go through OCI. I go to a t13 school, better than median grades but not law review good. I have a couple of years of work experience, but nothing that pops off a resume. I'm in some student groups and have some positions with the groups, but once again, not president of anything nor am I in a particularly noteworthy group.

I spoke with someone at a reception once, and he told me it was important to find your "tribe," a group that will vouch for you when it comes to getting your resume off the pile come OCI time. So I have been networking with attorneys in the practice areas I'm interested in to make the practice area my tribe, but I don't know how effective this is.

What can I do over the next couple of weeks to find people who will vouch for me?

Anonymous User

Re: Finding Your "Tribe"/Getting People to Vouch For You

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:35 am

Groups of people “vouching”, “tribes”, what in the hell are you talking about? I recommend simply preparing for the process and crushing it—Joel Embiid style, trust the process and be prepared. That person you talked to sounds like a junior associate who got caught up in their role at the reception.

totesTheGoat

Postby totesTheGoat » Wed Jul 11, 2018 10:47 am