Would it be a mistake to include Jewish law student organizational affiliation on a law school resume sent to firms? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Would it be a mistake to include Jewish law student organizational affiliation on a law school resume sent to firms?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 30, 2018 9:25 pm

I am an officer in my school's Jewish law student organization. I want to put it on my resume educational/activities section. Would it be a mistake?
Last edited by Anonymous User on Wed May 30, 2018 10:17 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Anonymous User

Re: Would it be a mistake to include Jewish law student organizational affiliation on a law school resume sent to firms?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed May 30, 2018 10:28 pm

Anonymous User wrote:I am an officer in my school's Jewish law student organization. I want to put it on my resume educational/activities section. Would it be a mistake?
Not at all. I had an associate basically declare my interview over right at the beginning (in a good way) when he saw we were in the same Jewish organization.

Ohiobumpkin

Silver

Re: Would it be a mistake to include Jewish law student organizational affiliation on a law school resume sent to firms?

Post by Ohiobumpkin » Wed May 30, 2018 10:29 pm

I don't know why it would be a mistake unless you apply to a firm with anti-Semitic members. In that case, you shouldn't work at a firm with that kind of bigotry anyway. Put it on!

whats an updog

Bronze