Is this a bad idea? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
ScurryRay

New

Is this a bad idea?

Post by ScurryRay » Thu May 03, 2018 6:49 pm

So, I'll try and make a long story short. I went to a Tier 3 law school and did very well. I graduated from an accelerated program (2.5 years) first in my class (3.95 GPA), won various awards, competitions, scholarships, blah, blah. I worked in the corporate world for quite awhile before law school so my resume looks really good. However, I simply cannot find a job. Over the last 6+ months, I've applied to about 90 places since I graduated (clerkships, prosecutor's offices, non-profits, etc.) and have found nothing or been offered nothing. I've had interviews with probably 5 places during that time. Made it to the final 2 in my desired field twice but both times lost out. Right now, my only realistic propositions on the table are a lower level state court clerkship in another state that I have a first interview for and a Assistant District Attorney position that I have had 2 interviews for and am "in consideration" still for the 3rd and final interview. I did not go to law school to work for a firm (not that one would hire me at this rate), I went for non-profit/public interested purposes, just for context.