Biglaw or no? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
mimmsi

New

Biglaw or no?

Post by mimmsi » Thu Apr 19, 2018 5:34 pm

I recently got the opportunity to work in my dream (but big law only) area of law, and I'm not sure what to do. I graduated a few years ago from a T2 school, did well enough to land a job right out of law school (although admittedly I was so nervous I wouldn't get a job so I took the first thing available). I work about 45-50 hours a week and earn $100k a year and have no loans and my firm is small-midsized. I absolutely love the people I work with. The only problem is that I never intended to end up in the area that I'm currently practicing in and I just don't care about it very much. It pays the bills, job is secure but it's definitely not something I was ever interested in.

As far as I can tell, this new opportunity offers me the chance to work in THE AREA of law that I was really passionate about in school but never had the opportunity to work in (out of fear and risk aversion). Other than that it also pays much better, but we're okay on money. I really struggle with this decision and can't tell if I'm passing on a great opportunity to do what I always dreamed of or if I don't know how good I've got it and should just focus on being a better lawyer in the area I'm in.

Anonymous User

Re: Biglaw or no?

Post by Anonymous User » Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:13 pm