Excuse for wanting to leave job in less than a year? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Excuse for wanting to leave job in less than a year?

Post by Anonymous User » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:55 pm

I'm a first year associate who passed the bar in November. I've been working at my current job for 6 months only. I love working at this firm, despite the fact that I make very little money - $50,000. I'm comfortable and the experience is good.

The reason why I'm looking into other jobs is because I am afraid the work is going to eventually dry up and I'll get laid off. I work for a solo practitioner that has one major client that brings in all of the money. My boss has made it clear that without that client, he wouldn't be able to afford me. This client has a history of changing lawyers. In fact, if we lose this upcoming trial, I don't know what is going to happen. I don't feel secure at all.

I've been applying for the past two weeks, and I get quite a few interviews scheduled. Once I was asked why I wanted to leave my current job, and I had no idea what to say.

Any thoughts? Also, am I making a poor decision by looking for another jobs under one year?

Anonymous User

Re: Excuse for wanting to leave job in less than a year?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Mar 07, 2018 12:13 pm