Asking to start as an associate in another office

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Asking to start as an associate in another office

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Mar 04, 2018 5:34 am

I live in a small state, very insular legal market. I graduated from my state law school 2 years ago and have been clerking for a state trial court judge. I recently applied to firms and got a few offers, including from my top choice. However a couple of days ago, my husband, after not hearing anything for more than a month, got an interview for a job in DC. He is a finalist for that job and it is a job that he would be interested in taking. My questions are:
1. My husband's interview is on Monday. My job offer, which has been open for 1 week, expires at the end of this week. Is it ok to ask for more time? Do I explain the reason for requesting more time?
2. The firm that I received an offer from is affiliated with an international firm that has an office in DC. Would it be appropriate to ask if I could work in the DC office? If my husband does take the job in DC, it wouldn't be for more than 2 years. After 2 years, we would move back home and I would like to continue working for the firm.
3. If the law firm says no and we move to DC anyway, how hard would it be for me to get a job at a good law firm being that I went to a state school?
4. Does anyone have any other suggestions for how to handle this situation?

deadpanic

Silver

Re: Asking to start as an associate in another office