Firm holidays

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Firm holidays

Postby Anonymous User » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:23 am

I am looking for any info on the norms for holidays at biglaw, midlaw, and boutique firms. I am a law student and I'm probably going to end up in a market a few states away from my family, but holidays have always been a big deal for my family and I'd like to travel back when I can. I'm also just curious.

I do realize that firms probably don't have any days they're officially shut down or anything and that you still have to meet your billables and might have to log in from home/your family's home. I'm just asking which days will most attorneys not be in the office unless there's an emergency.

Of federal holidays, I'd imagine days off might be Jan. 1, July 4, and maybe Labor and Memorial? Veterans?

How do Thanksgiving, Christmas, and Easter work? These are all big holidays in my family, but I know plenty attorneys don't celebrate them. For those who do, what are the norms? Thanksgiving and Black Friday? What about taking the Wednesday before to travel home? Christmas Eve and Christmas Day? What about the time between Christmas and New Year's? Do people go back on the 26th, or maybe the 27th or 28th? And Easter is always on a Sunday. Good Friday (probably not)? Easter Monday - maybe? I would prefer not to have to head to the airport soon after Easter dinner, but I understand it might be unavoidable.