Is it better to get grades up before using moderate connections?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.

Is it better to get grades up before using moderate connections?

Postby linkster515 » Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:36 am

I had a strategy question. I am an evening student in a secondary market. I took a couple years off after undergrad to work for a fortune 500 company overseas. I kept doing remote work for them during my first year (hence why I am an evening student) and my grades suffered a great deal as a result. I am URM who was a scholarship kid at one of the local fancy private schools growing up so I have some people from my past I could lean on for some networking help. (my background makes me perfectly suited for international law and it seems like those jobs are heavily concentrated in biglaw and thus im stuck in the rat race). The thing is I am currently at around at 2.85 (median at my school is ~3.1) with about 30 credits left over the span of a year to try and raise it up.