Post-Clerkship Interview Beard/Stubble Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Post-Clerkship Interview Beard/Stubble

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Jan 27, 2018 12:59 pm

Hi all, I know this topic has been covered at length (re: OCI/interviews during law school) but my situation is a little different. I’ve been interviewing for post-clerkship gigs with big firms for the past 4 months or so. In each, I’ve gone in clean shaven and every time I don’t feel like myself. Thus far, no offers.

In real life, I wear a short, neatly trimmed beard. It’s not patchy and I’ve worn it this way for most of my adult life. The beard, without question, adds 5+ years of age to my face. Without it, I look young, pasty, and it really shows that I have a somewhat weak chin.

My question is whether I can drop the shaving routine for these interviews or if I should continue to shave until something sticks?

I’m a little embarrassed to even ask since the topic of beards has come up so many times, but I was unable to find a thread not centered around law students. If you know of a thread, feel free to link it. Thanks.

acr

Silver

Re: Post-Clerkship Interview Beard/Stubble

Post by acr » Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:22 pm

Just be yourself, and keep the beard neatly groomed. Sometimes it's important to look older and a beard can add a nice masculine jawline as well. As long as it's not a Tormund Giantsbane beard you're OK.

Anonymous User

Post by Anonymous User » Sat Jan 27, 2018 2:52 pm