How much will a termination from before law school hurt my chances at lateraling

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How much will a termination from before law school hurt my chances at lateraling

Postby Anonymous User » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:26 am

First off, this isn't another one of those "should I disclose" threads. I'm going to disclose it. The question is how do I explain it and how much will it ding me?

It was my first job out of college. I was a paralegal at a boutique firm. It's a long story, but their official records say I was terminated for performance issues. My side of it, which I would never tell a prospective employer, is that I was assigned way more work than my peers (I was billing 3x the next highest guy) and fired when I couldn't keep up with my absurdly bloated workload. I was working 50+ hours a week on $33k/y.

Since then I've had 3 other jobs, including attorney job since graduating law school. I want to believe they won't give a fuck, just as they didn't care wen I disclosed my termination to my current employer.

hugerez

New

Re: How much will a termination from before law school hurt my chances at lateraling

Postby hugerez » Fri Jan 26, 2018 2:39 am

why would a legal employer care about a lateral applicant's pre-law job that far back? Image this conversation... "4 jobs ago before law school, tell me about your work and why did you stop working there? That's never gonna come up.

Anonymous User