How easy to lateral/switch jobs before first year? Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

How easy to lateral/switch jobs before first year?

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:05 pm

Hello. So I graduated T6, but ended up not landing a law firm position due to immigration reasons (the firm I summered for rescinded my offer once they found out they had to sponsor me). After a LOT of hustling all of 3L year, I managed to land a in-house contract position with a big hedge fund. However, I was recently informed by my GC that due to internal politics, they would not be able to hire me full time beyond my contract term. So I am now in the position of having to find a new job again. At this juncture of having to find a new job, I was wondering if I could possibly eye Big Law again. I've been working at the hedge fund for about 4 months now, and the immigration issue I had is now much more easier to overcome (my boyfriend and I have been talking about marriage). Given these changes of circumstance (and also just in general regardless of visa issues), does any one know how easy it is to lateral/switch jobs before the end of your first year? Thanks in advance.

mister logical

Bronze

Re: How easy to lateral/switch jobs before first year?

Post by mister logical » Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:15 pm

Saw your post on reddit, sorry all of that happened.

What I would say is that once your immigration things are sorted out you'd definitely be eligible for big law because:

1. You graduated from a T6