I need help

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
timmyd

Bronze

I need help

Postby timmyd » Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:26 am

I'm in my second year of practice after doing a fed clerkship right out of school. I work for essentially an insurance defense shop, but my practice area is mostly municipal and entity defense like bad cop stuff. We also defend a mid size city, so I get a ton of random stuff that they feed to outside firms like breach of contract, even defamation action against the mayor.

I can't take this shit anymore. My schedule is insane. I have like 2 briefs due every week, depositions somewhat regularly, and a myriad of other, bullshit tasks like meeting with clients and updated then on every fucking thing that happens. I'm arguing a pretty big state court motion in a week in a half as well. I wake up every day, to the extent I was able to sleep at all, feeling nervous and dreading the work day. I also work a lot on weekends recently and I'm just broken down. My digestive system is fucked up because I'm so stressed and nervous all the time. I make it a point though, to work out at least 4-5 times a week with heavy weights.