Advice needed...having doubts about law long-term

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Advice needed...having doubts about law long-term

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:44 am

So I'm having doubts about having entered the legal profession. The reason is that I just feel I'm not that good at it. Previously I used to be in a health-related field and I was naturally good at what I did. I worked hard, had focus, knew what I needed to do, and most importantly, my work quality was great. Along the way, the notion of being a lawyer entered my head and I went into law school. Although I did well in law, I'm now struggling in practice. Nothing comes naturally to me, it takes me too long to produce anything (even writing an email seems like it takes ages), my focus is gone, and my enthusiasm which I had before is disappearing because I feel that no matter how hard I work, I feel like I'm getting by with minimum passing standards at work. I'm worried at how long I can sustain this.

A part of me wants to exit law and return back to the health field. In the long-term, I don't see my career growing because I'm not naturally inclined to think like a lawyer and nothing I did in school prepared me for work. And if it takes me more time to do something than others, I feel that will hinder my career from many opportunities.