Tax issue for IRS Position

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Tax issue for IRS Position

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Oct 26, 2017 7:18 pm

So not to put the horse before the cart but I applied for an IRS Honors Tax Position and received an interview.

I know that there will be a tax check if I am offered a position. I realized today that I should I have file a return 2 years ago. That year I worked as a temporary independent contractor and I didn't make much money so I thought I wouldn't have to file(shows you how much I know much about taxes) I looked up how much I had to make before I had to file and I made more than that. Would I still be in consideration for employment if I filed that year's taxes now?

Leprechaun

Bronze

Re: Tax issue for IRS Position

Postby Leprechaun » Fri Oct 27, 2017 11:49 pm

Anonymous User wrote:So not to put the horse before the cart but I applied for an IRS Honors Tax Position and received an interview.

I know that there will be a tax check if I am offered a position. I realized today that I should I have file a return 2 years ago. That year I worked as a temporary independent contractor and I didn't make much money so I thought I wouldn't have to file(shows you how much I know much about taxes) I looked up how much I had to make before I had to file and I made more than that. Would I still be in consideration for employment if I filed that year's taxes now?