Feeling Defeated

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Feeling Defeated

Postby Anonymous User » Wed Oct 25, 2017 7:04 pm

I need some advice and I'm hoping that at least someone on here has gone through what I am going through.

I am an in-house attorney (just me and general counsel) in the SF Bay Area and the owner/CEO is a complete nightmare. I've worked at the company for almost 2 years and during these 2 years, the owner has blown up more times than I can count, mostly over things that have nothing to do with the legal department, even though the legal department gets blamed. When I say that he has "blown up" I mean that he yells and bangs his fists on the table until he is blue in the face, storms out of people's offices, and throws papers. These blow ups are mostly met with foul language and disparaging remarks (mostly directed at the legal department, which consists of me, general counsel, and the legal secretary). When it first happened to me, I thought I had to be dreaming, as I've NEVER seen someone get so angry over something so minor. Just last week he started screaming at me because the signature tags (the "sign here" stickies) were in the wrong place ("tell the legal secretary that she knows I want the tags above my signature, not next to it!!!!!"). This is the insane stuff I deal with on a daily basis. The general counsel (my boss) will step in when this happens, but it's seriously uncomfortable and totally uncalled for. The legal department at my company is extremely busy and w