L.A. litigation firms for a lateral move Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
surrealfx

New

L.A. litigation firms for a lateral move

Post by surrealfx » Sun Oct 22, 2017 4:37 am

I'm a third-year litigation associate at a Vault 5 firm in Los Angeles. I graduated in the top 11% of a top-20 law school, which is also located in L.A., and I was a 3L participant in law review. I never clerked, but I did apply and interview in one case. I'm tired of the huge case teams at my firm that leave me doing minor parts of cases and with little or no input into case strategy. On most cases, there is another associate supervising. Then, there are at least two partners. I've never taken a deposition, and I don't even write the substantive motions on many cases. At my firm, it seems like 20-30 years of experience are needed to argue discovery motions or appear at status conferences. I'm looking for a job where I can do the majority of the work and have one supervisor--a partner. At this point, I'm not growing as an attorney and would like to do more of what interests me.

These are the characteristics I'm looking for in my ideal job. I realize that I may not be able to get them all, and I have not weighed their importance, but I tried to mention where I would or would not budge.