Should I take the bar?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should I take the bar?

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Oct 08, 2017 3:31 pm

Anyone know anything about what it takes to maintain/possibly transfer your bar license if you don't start practicing for several years? I'm trying to figure out if it's worth it for me to take the bar.

More background: I'm a 2017 grad currently in a PhD program. I didn't take the bar this past summer because of research commitments but am considering doing it in July 2018. I am working toward legal academia, so the only reason I need the bar would be as a backup plan if that doesn't work out at some point in the future.

Given the way academia goes, backup plans are good to have, but I'm not sure if it's worth it to do this now given all the hassle and the risk of having to retake anyway if I choose the wrong state. My quickly-researched impression is that most states don't allow waiving in if you haven't been practicing in the original state. Currently I am assuming I will move wherever I get a job in academia, so I have no idea where I'd want to practice if working as a lawyer. Maybe current state or home state, both have a lot of lawyer jobs--I would probably choose one of these to take the bar in. But honestly this scenario would be a major life change for me and would be years in the future, so it's hard to predict what my priorities would be.