Alternative careers? 2L

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Alternative careers? 2L

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Aug 17, 2017 3:35 am

What are my prospects of getting a career outside of law with terrible law school grades from a prestigious school?

Will employers in business and consulting focus on my 1L grades? I have no background in finance, but plan to take business courses during 2L. 1L was HELL for me for reasons legitimately beyond my control that have nothing to do with academics. There is nothing I can do to change that now. Is there any redemption in law? If I get a job in biglaw and get median or better grades 2L year, will I likely have more options at 3L OCI? I somehow have a few callbacks, but I got the invites later than my classmates and my grades will still be a hurdle to overcome in hiring. The firms that gave me callbacks have in common: interview with a partner with clout who was impressed by me BEFORE seeing the transcript. How do I impress an entire team of attorneys at a callback interview? How do I convince them that hiring me is not a risk, even though on paper it seems to be?