Evaluating Entry Level Offers in terms of lateraling

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
arabatlaw

New

Evaluating Entry Level Offers in terms of lateraling

Postby arabatlaw » Fri Jul 07, 2017 7:41 pm

I'm a recent T14 grad who struck out at OCI. Through some luck and persistence I've yielded two offers. They are however completely different jobs. One is as an associate attorney at a boutique employment firm near NYC that solely represents school districts and the other is as an associate at a smaller but reasonably well established criminal defense practice in NYC that handles everything from misdemeanors to death penalty appeals.
In terms of potential exit opportunities, how would larger private practices look at these employment experiences? Not necessarily V100 or even V250 firms but let's say "midlaw" firms of 50-100 attorneys. Could a person to enter a white collar practice coming from the criminal defense side as opposed to having been an Assistant US Attorney? Would the litigation experience be valued if it came from a criminal defense firm? I thank you all in advance for your responses. Godspeed.

Civilservant

New

Re: Evaluating Entry Level Offers in terms of lateraling

Postby Civilservant » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:47 pm