Below median at lower T14, is NYC biglaw possible?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Below median at lower T14, is NYC biglaw possible?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:16 pm

Rising 2L at a lower T14 (not Cornell. Think UVA/Duke/Mich/NW). Recently got my 1L grades, and my gpa is below median. (I'd say above bottom third based on the curve)

I have some non-legal work experiences before law school, and I'm working as a 1L SA at a non-NY, Am Law 200 firm through a diversity program.

Do I still have a chance at getting a big law offer from NYC? I don't have any ties to NY, but I was told that NY is the largest employer for my school.
I'd also be grateful for any advice on what to do in terms of networking/mass mailing and bidding for OCI.
Last edited by Anonymous User on Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lymenheimer

Gold

Re: Below median at lower T14, is NYC biglaw possible?

Postby lymenheimer » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:24 pm

This question is almost unanswerable. For instance, it matters what school you are at. Regardless, your CSO should have a bunch of information regarding OCI and bidding, including grade distributions for firms coming to OCI.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Jun 06, 2017 10:32 pm

lymenheimer wrote:This question is almost unanswerable. For instance, it matters what school you are at. Regardless, your CSO should have a bunch of information regarding OCI and bidding, including grade distributions for firms coming to OCI.