Indifferent towards my coworkers Forum

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Indifferent towards my coworkers

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:44 pm

Hi everyone,

I am a paralegal at a v20 firm. Our firm, like many others, hosts staff events to promote a friendly environment. The thing is, I am indifferent towards my coworkers, and would rather work than attend these events. The HR dept is always questioning my absence at these events. I'm starting law school this fall, and can't wait to hand in my two weeks notice. However, in the event that I would need a reference letter from my employer, am I shooting myself in the foot by not being more social? I do my job well, and get along with everyone, I just don't attend these mind numbing events.

Anonymous User

Re: Indifferent towards my coworkers

Post by Anonymous User » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:53 pm

I wouldn't say you are shooting yourself in the foot. It is still very likely that you could get a reference from someone at the firm. However, often it is easier to get a reference when someone knows you better and that is one of the things that is achieved by attending social or networking events.

SmokeytheBear

Silver

Post by SmokeytheBear » Wed Apr 26, 2017 2:55 pm

Anonymous User wrote:Hi everyone,