JD or (Paralegal certificate+LLM) for a LLB graduate?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
inilidg

New

JD or (Paralegal certificate+LLM) for a LLB graduate?

Postby inilidg » Sun Apr 16, 2017 3:12 pm

I am an LLB graduate who recently came to the US. As my next step I am thinking of furthering my education on becoming an attorney. Rather than investing money on a JD I am thinking of doing a paralegal certificate and gain some experience in the American legal system. I may do a part-time LLM and MBA with my job as well. Will this erase the gap of knowledge as an american attorney after I sit for the american bar? I already have the basic legal knowledge from my LLB and working. I have sat for my home country's bar as well.

curepure

New

Re: JD or (Paralegal certificate+LLM) for a LLB graduate?

Postby curepure » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:28 pm

Tons of LLB students come to the US for an LLM, almost none of them get associate positions at Vault firms, even if they go to T14. An LLM allows you to take NY or CA bar but doesn't give you any edge unless from HYS or maybe CCN. I've only seen one HYS LLM getting an associate title, and he/she was a paralegal at that firm for 2 years before LLM. Another CCN LLM friend of mine got the associate title but not the pay, and his/her LLM was sponsored by the firm he/she was working for.

Anonymous User

Postby Anonymous User » Sun Apr 16, 2017 4:29 pm