Should I be disappointed with my outcome?

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Should I be disappointed with my outcome?

Postby Anonymous User » Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:40 pm

I graduated last December from a T50 law school in my home flyover state and took the February bar. My grades were poor at probably around the 30th-40th percentile (I HATED law school though I liked the law). I got a job with a relatively mid-size firm (by my state's standards) where I'll be the 11th attorney. I got placed in one of their rural offices with another attorney in an area where I do have some family, doing law that some elitists on this site might call "shit law" (family law, criminal law, etc.) - though I think I enjoy the fields enough and could find purpose in doing it. I graduated with a grand total of $9,000 of debt, so I really don't have any serious financial fears regarding my career. However, I recently found out that upon my (hopefully) passing the bar, my salary will only be about $45k/year. Even by my (relatively modest) school's numbers (where about 70% of employed graduates do actually report their salaries according to LST), this is well below the 25th percentile for associates. A partner assured me that after six months when I start taking over my own cases that my salary will increase significantly. I have no reason to disbelieve the partner individually, other than the fact that I am a typical cynic and don't usually trust law schools and law firms in general with all the madness in the legal