Seeking Advice about Career Transition

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
citizenrobert

New

Seeking Advice about Career Transition

Postby citizenrobert » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:46 pm

Hi folks, grateful for any advice you can offer:

I graduated from the University of Michigan Law School in 2012, and took a job a few months later at the Legal Services Corporation-funded civil legal aid organization serving my county. So, for the last four years, I've been doing landlord/tenant, Social Security, welfare, and other "legal aid" type cases. My current salary is $ 68,000.

At this point, for a number of personal and professional reasons, I want to move on. I'm not insisting on making the big bucks, but I have three goals:
(1) be in the private sector
(2) handle cases that are more complex and more interesting. practice areas that are of potential interest to me: special education, plaintiffs' personal injury, labor and employment
(3) not take a pay hit vis-à-vis my legal aid compensation, which isn't so bad considering the generous leave policy (17 vacation days, 5 'personal' days, decent amount of sick leave)

I'm in the New York City metro region, so jobs within the five boroughs are within my geographic neighborhood.

Despite sending out numerous applications over the past six months, I've been finding it very hard to get interest from employers. I'm just not getting any traction. Any advice?

Anonymous User

Re: Seeking Advice about Career Transition

Postby Anonymous User » Sat Mar 25, 2017 10:24 pm