Going from in-house back to a firm to change practice groups

(On Campus Interviews, Summer Associate positions, Firm Reviews, Tips, ...)
Forum rules
Anonymous Posting

Anonymous posting is only appropriate when you are revealing sensitive employment related information about a firm, job, etc. You may anonymously respond on topic to these threads. Unacceptable uses include: harassing another user, joking around, testing the feature, or other things that are more appropriate in the lounge.

Failure to follow these rules will get you outed, warned, or banned.
Anonymous User

Going from in-house back to a firm to change practice groups

Postby Anonymous User » Thu Mar 02, 2017 2:17 pm

I am an in-house patent attorney (about 2 years experience). My responsibilities thus far have been the same as my responsibilities when I was at a firm: patent prep/pros. I went in house because the legal department of the company I joined was structured in a way that would have allowed me to transition from patent prosecution into IP/tech transactions. And my long-term goal is to be more of a general in-house IP attorney that handles patents, trademarks, transactions, etc., as opposed to one who focuses solely on patents and portfolio management.

However, our department recently went through a big restructuring, and now it looks like that transition will no longer be an option and there is a decent possibility that there may be layoffs in the future. Now I'm contemplating going back to a firm to transition to IP/tech transactions. I've looked at a few other in-house opportunities, but they all seem to focus mostly on patent prep/pros and portfolio management.